Who is Eligible for the Awards?

A winner will be chosen from each of the four award categories:

  • Young carer Award
  • Foster/Kinship Carer Award
  • Family carer Award
  • Caring in the Country Award

To be eligible for an award, carers must be either an unpaid carer providing support and care to a family member or friend within the specified categories or a foster/kinship carer as per the definition.

Carers in paid employment for their caring role are excluded from nominations. Carers who receive carer-related payments from the Department of Social Services or state/territory health or social services are eligible for the awards.

Foster carers must be authorised by their state or territory, or a non-government organisation for their foster caring role. Foster carers and kinship carers should be able to prove that they have a currently caring responsibility for a child or young person.

Caring in the Country nominees must be located in rural and remote areas across Australia and provide unpaid care to a person who requires care and support. The carers primary location must be within the rural zones of R2 (urban centre population 10,000-24,999) and R3 (urban centre population <10,000) or remote zones of Rem1 (urban centre population >4,999) and Rem 2 (urban centre population <5,000). [3]

At the discretion of relevant Federal and State Government Ministers, with advice from the judging panel, a fifth award will also be available for a Minister to recognise a carer from within their jurisdiction. This award may be selected from amongst the nominations for the other four award categories. The Minister’s Award will relate to the state or territory of the relevant Minister only.


How to Nominate

Nominations may be submitted via the online nomination form on the home page of the National Carer Awards 2015 website or may be posted to National Carer Awards Secretariat, Level 6, 107 Pitt Street, Sydney NSW 2000.


Who Can Nominate?

Nominations can be made by community members, family, friends and any other member of the community who knows a carer and would like to nominate them in one of the award categories.

Nominations from teachers, doctors, social workers, child care workers, community service agencies and carers are encouraged.

Nominations must be made by Australian residents aged 14 years and over.

Any person involved in the administration and judging of the National Carer Awards 2015 is ineligible to be nominated for the awards, as are any members of their immediate families.

[3] In line with the definition provided by the Australian Institute of Health and Welfare www.aihw.gov.au/rural-health-rrma-classification